top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHeather Waterous

Getting this horse on the road…

Two years ago Heather and I set our sights on this 5-month traverse, one year ago our plans had to be postponed due to COVID-19, in February we got the great news that we would be the recipients of the RCGS Women's Expedition Grant and by the end of that month a number of our campsites had been booked. Now we are less than a week, a mere 3 days, away from getting this horse on the road!


After 2 years to put everything together I still managed to leave a pile of things to the last minute. All those bits and bobs that individually don’t take much time but collectively add up to more time than you have to spare. We got our resupply boxes finished up and into the mail, fixed up our bikes for when we need them at the end of August, and sent warmer layers and PFD’s up to Whitehorse for our last stint of the trip - paddling the Yukon River to Dawson City.



Hiking gear for the first segment of our trip.


Meal Prep:

Both Heather and I have been dehydrating rigorously this past month. Last time I was on the phone with her she had three dehydrators going and a pile of food waiting to be vacuum sealed. Our food will be a mix of home dehydrated meals and things you can buy dry from the grocery store like couscous, oatmeal, etc. We each packed half the resupplies and I’m very excited for all the tasty surprises waiting for me in Heather’s boxes! My go-to dehydrated meal is red lentil dahl. It rehydrates super well in hot or cold water and is a full protein when eaten with minute rice. I use my Swiss Grandmother’s recipe who learned to make it for my Indian Grandfather. It was a staple in our house growing up, kind of our equivalent of macaroni and cheese. I also made pumpkin soup and spinach curry for the trip. Both of these dishes have a cashew puree base for added calories and protein.


Hot tip: If you eat the same dinners twice per resupply you halve the number of bags you use and you can still have good meal diversity by eating entirely different meals on the next resupply.



Spinach curry ready to be dehydrated.



Contents of a resupply box.


Training:

I am historically terrible at training for things unless I have a coach or someone else holding me accountable. I made an effort this time to keep my training fun and dynamic in hopes that I would be more likely to do it. Being in the process of recovering from shoulder surgery meant that I couldn’t ski tour to stay in shape like I usually do in the winter. Instead I took to cross country skiing with one pole. When spring came I started running, and hiking with a heavy pack, I also tried specific exercises to strengthen my legs, hips, and feet. I know the first few weeks of our trip are going to be a slog but I’m hoping I at least did enough to avoid getting injured and to keep up with Heather.


Gear:

“We hold these two things together using the handyman’s approach, duct tape.” This classic Red Green Quote summarizes my usual approach when prepping for backcountry trips. I don’t mind a little jankiness and avoid buying new things. However, I decided that is maybe not the best way to start a 5000km trip. Besides, there will be plenty of duct tape by the end. There are a number of pretty great gear companies who make quality products locally, treat their employees well, and are environmentally conscious. We looked for those specific qualities when buying supplies and reaching out for sponsorship. I was also feeling crafty this winter so I made myself a bike frame bag.



Handmade frame bag.


In addition to getting ready for this trip, we both moved out of our respective houses. A few days ago my living space was overrun by dried food, gear, and quick dry clothing, now with my tornado of a mess packed up in boxes the place looks kind of empty. At least my partner, who isn’t moving out, will be able to use the kitchen table again.


It feels wildly exciting to be this close to the trailhead and I cannot wait until all I have to do in a day is hike!


Much love, Amaya


Big thank yous go out to Ursack and Fayettechill who gave us some fantastic gear! We are also very appreciative of the support from Xero Shoes, Smartwool, and Arkel Panniers who provided discounted gear for this expedition.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page